top of page
  • Writer's pictureKofu Toastmas Yoshi

Division B Speech Contest Report: Thank you, Ririna, for your wonderful speech!

Updated: May 9, 2021


April 25, 2021, Toastmasters Division B, D76, Japan:

Area Director: Seiko Komatsu


The International Speech Contest, which started in January, has reached the final stage, the District Contest (national level), which is to be held on May 22nd and 23rd. On April 25th, Division B, to which we Kofu Toastmasters Club belong to, held its Contest and TM Ririna Kaneko, representative of our club, has participated. TM Kaneko has won the 1st Prize at the Club and the Area Contests and proceeded to the next stage-the Division Contest.


年明けから始まったインターナショナルスピーチコンテストも、残すところディストリクト大会(全国大会)のみとなりました。4/25には私たち甲府トーストマスターズが所属するディビジョンBのコンテストが行われて、私たちのクラブの代表である兼子莉李那さんが出場しました。兼子さんはクラブコンテスト、エリアコンテストと勝ち進み、ディビジョンコンテストへの出場権を獲得しています。


It was highly completed speech since the time of the Club Contest, and I thought she was emotionally involved in this speech. I think her superb message led by a story with her now-dead best teacher who taught her English, has reached the audience in each stage of the contest: the Club, the Area, and the Division. I thought this speech was impressive and when I told her my feelings, she said she had been wishing to talk about it for a long time, but she retained it until she became able to calmly suppress her emotions.


クラブコンテストから完成度の高いスピーチで、彼女のこのスピーチへの思い入れを感じました。彼女に英語を教えてくれた今は亡き最高の先生とのストーリーから導かれる秀逸なメッセージは、クラブ、エリア、ディビジョンのどのレベルのコンテストの聴衆の心にも届いていたと思います。私はこのスピーチはとても素晴らしいスピーチだと思って、それを伝えると、彼女はいつかスピーチしたいとずっと思っていた内容だったけれど、感情が溢れるのを冷静に抑えられるようになるまで、温めておいたと言っていました。


As a result, she won the 3rd Prize at this Division B Contest! Congratulations! I am very proud of her as a representative of our club. But she might have mixed feelings since she had participated in the District Contest, the top-ranked contest in Japan a few years ago. Only the 1st Prize winner is qualified to participate in the District Contest. Her challenge to the speech contest this year has reached its culmination point, but this might be a brand new start. For me, her speech was the most memorable one I have heard this year.


結果、今回のディビジョンBコンテスト3位入賞!おめでとうございます!私たちの代表としてとても誇らしく思います。でも彼女は数年前に国内最上位のディストリクトコンテストに出場したことがあるので、きっと悔しい気持ちもあったのではないかと思います。ディストリクトコンテストに進めるのは1位のみなのです。今年の彼女のコンテストのチャレンジはここで終わりますが、またこれは新たなスタートかもしれません。私にとっては、今年のコンテストシーズンの中で、一番印象に残ったスピーチとなりました。


Kaneko-san, thank you again for your excellent speech!


兼子さん、おつかれさまでした!素晴らしいスピーチをありがとうございました。

43 views0 comments
bottom of page